Can I Mourn

I know I’ve been slacking on NaPoWriMo. Life’s been, Life. And then something happened yesterday that has caused all life goings on to cease. Our beloved (well my beloved) Prince, the Artist Formerly Known As, The Purple One has left our plane of Earth. My timeline on FB has been flooded with so many posts, gifs, memes, song lyrics etc that I’ve loved every bit. And I know many people don’t get it. Many people just shrug and go “but you didn’t even know him” or “I’m not going to get that bent outta shape over any celeb”…and simply to them I say, you just don’t get it and probably never will.

As a poet I’m in love with words. And what is music other than words in motion. So to me it’s natural that I am also a lover of music. Die hard music head. So music touches me. And for most, music next to love is a universal language. So yes, many of us are in shock after the news. Many of us are taking over your FB timelines to make it “rain” purple. If you don’t like it, oh well.

But if you want to try to understand, here goes:

This is why we mourn. Why We listen to their songs and watch all their videos&movies after we hear the news of their passing.

They are a part of our lives. Maybe not directly. Maybe we didn’t see them at our grandma’s house on Christmas. Maybe we didn’t meet them in person. But their spirits are infused with ours. We can recall memories of moments and in those moments there are bits of their song lyrics. We remember days that devastated us and their tunes would instantly give us a bit of friendly console. We look at our pictures and even though we don’t see them in those pictures, we know they were there with us that day at the cookout, at the game, at the Prom. We listened to their music before we could even appreciate that they were legends, we listened to their music when we learned to drive, the day we had our first kiss or at the wedding

They are infused into our WHOLE lives so much that they feel like family, because music and words touch you in places you’d never even know how deep. Why do you think they tell mother’s to read aloud while pregnant, or listen to music on their bellies, because those vibrations transcend physical touch. Those vibrations can heal, give hope, or hold your hand through heartbreak.

So when we lose one of the greats it really does hurt. So we pull out those old records, tapes, CDs and DVDs and pay homage to them the only way we know how…..through the way they came into our lives.

RIParadise Prince Nelson Rogers. The Earth will not be the same without you, but we thank you for your impact on our hearts. I thank you for infusing your soul into mine with your genius and talent. And your uniqueness.

13007080_984496944999417_7943028593750784832_n

9dde34ce8e406c6352823003363ec70c

I know I’ll be watching Purple Rain and Under the Cherry Moon in the next days and weeks to come, and listening to all of his music. I’ll be mourning the way I know how.

WeeblyPoetrySiggy

You read my words, now I want to read yours!

